Noob backpacker advice for other noobs planning a backpacking trip

This section is just for those interested in any hints or tips I have, in my vast experience of thru hiking 59.2 miles in 6 days (sarcasm intended!).

  • Spam is the most delicious thing imaginable on the trail.  Seriously, it is.
  • I thought that my “fat stores” would be enough to sustain me for five days, but I found myself seriously lagging in energy if I didn’t keep eating, especially carbs.  I was a bit surprised at this, but I definitely noticed a difference before and after eating.
  • Cliff bars are vile.  They just are, nothing can make them any better.  But they are a good energy boost after a hard uphill climb.
  • After we returned from our first trip (to the 46 mile mark), my feet kept hurting, and swelling, for several days.  I finally had an xray and saw a podiatrist who diagnosed me with tendonitis and prescribed steroids, ice, rest, and orthotic inserts.  Although on the trail I was very happy with the combination of my lightweight Merrell Hikers and Smartwool Socks, I know now that I need more support and will go with a heavier support boot in the future.
  • I would have liked a good pair of sandals for creek crossings and nighttime.  I had a pair of sandals with me but they were not sturdy enough for stream crossings.
  • I really didn’t regret any of the gear or supplies I brought as I used pretty much all of it.  I didn’t use the dental floss but I would still pack it as the weight is negligible and it could be useful.
  • One thing I would like for future use is a good pair of hiking shorts.  I had very comfortable shorts for hiking but they had no real pockets and I would like a pair with some deep pockets to hold the trail guide and maybe some snacks, as it was a major pain to have to drop pack everytime I wanted to eat something.
  • Pooping in the woods isn’t as bad as you think.  It really isn’t.  Once you do it once, it’s just part of backpacking.
  • I personally could have done without any cooked food on this summer hike.  I might have a different tune in the other three seasons, but in the heat, I was fine with easy food and didn’t need anything hot to drink either. My kids and husband insisted on cooked food however, but I felt it was a waste of weight to carry in stoves and fuel.
  • I like having three changes of underwear, shorts, shirt, bras, and socks.  One on, one drying out, and one dry.  I like going to bed in dry clothing.  I think that is a good amount without being too much weight.
  • Accept the fact that you will be smelly.  You just will, you can’t help it, no amount of deodorant will help it anyway.  I didn’t even pack deodorant.  As my son said, “If everyone stinks, then no one stinks.”.  Wise words from a 16 year old.
  • I had brought underarmour and figured it was a waste until the last night when I was FREEZING in my sleeping bag. .  I put on the underarmour and it was much better.  Always better to be prepared for cool weather.
  • I did fine with my extended wear contacts for the duration, but I’m not sure what I would have done on a longer hike.  I guess I’d have to go with glasses, or change contacts out when I had a chance to wash up well.

FOR WOMEN ONLY: (I mean it, men, you don’t want to read this)

  • I actually had my period on the trail; however, I get a very very light period at this point in my life and it wasn’t really any hassle.  I used panty liners and wet wipes and that kept me fairly clean.  I did find that panty liners don’t stick to wet, sweaty underwear however.  If I had it to do again, I’d probably just use a tampon during the day and be done with it.  Of course, packing out all that stuff stinks, but it has to be done.
  • For general wiping, I again used wet wipes, until I ran out.  I did eventually go to the infamous “pee rag”, on the last day.  If you don’t know of what I speak, I will direct you here: http://backpackerchicksrock.wordpress.com/2014/08/16/the-pee-ragbandana/
  • Note on that: when I read about it (kind of in the horror you are probably feeling now if you have just read it for the first time), I told my boys about it.  Very matter of factly, the one said, “oh pretty much everyone does that”.  So apparently it’s well known in backpacking literature, even by boys lol.

Leave a comment